First blog post is on Cluetrain

by

Wow, look at me go, my very first blog!

The theses in this book grabbed my attention almost immediately. The style the authors use is direct and to the point, saying exactly what they mean, without sugar coating it. The first thesis I liked, was the second one, “Markets consist of human beings, not demographic sectors,” because it made me feel like the authors want businesses to look at their potential customers as actual functioning people, not just meaningless statistics. I also appreciated the candor in the writing, with statements such as, “Companies need to realize their markets are often laughing. At them.”

My favorite thesis was number 30, “Brand loyalty is the corporate version of going steady, but the breakup is inevitable—and coming fast. Because they are networked, smart markets are able to renegotiate relationships with blinding speed.” I don’t know if I completely agree with it, because I’m not sure if “the breakup” is always a sure thing. However, with all the new information and resources available to consumers, finding newer better products is definitely easier and faster.

However, I disagreed with some of the theses, such as number 74, “We are immune to advertising. Just forget it.” I believe advertisements play a big role in swaying the consumer, and at the very least, get a products name out there, making consumers aware of its’ presence.

okay, so i hope this worked. It only took me about ten years to figure out how to do it!

Leave a Reply

